Brave Egypt loss to topflight Denmark in penalties


By: Nabila Essam

The Egyptian national team bids farewell to the World Handball Cup, which is currently being held in Cairo, after losing, on Wednesday in a game held in Cairo Stadium Indoor Hall, to Denmark, the "title holder," in penalties. The original time ended in a 28-28 draw, then they needed first and second 10 minutes overtimes, which also ended in a draw 34-34. The game needed penalties to be settled and it ended up losing to Denmark 39-38. 

The superb performance of the Egyptian national team appeared from the first minute. They were dominant in the game, despite the differences in capabilities between the two teams, as Denmark managed to finish the first half with a score of 16-13.

In the second half, the Pharaohs continued their distinguished performance, while the opponent played with all his strength to achieve victory and qualify, but the Egyptian team presented an amazing performance to end the match with a score of 28/28, and in overtime, the Pharaohs continued to shine, to tie at the last moment after counting a Penalty through the VAR. 


The players of the national team were able to advance in the result during the second extra time, with the Danish team's star Mikkel Hansen who was dismissed, and goalkeeper Muhammad Essam Al-Tayyar prevented them from scoring a penalty in the deadly time. 


This heroic and competitive show presented by The Egyptian national team included: Karim Hindawi, Muhammad Al-Tayyar, Omar Elwakeel , Ahmed Moamen, Ali Zain, Yahya Al-Daraa, Hassan Qaddah, Ahmed Hisham Al-Sayed, Saif Al-Daraa - Akram Yousry - Yahya Khaled - Ahmed Al-Ahmmar - Muhammad Sanad. 


The match was attended by a large number of public figures, and it was also attended by Dr. Ashraf Sobhy, Minister of Youth and Sports, Dr. Khaled Abdel Ghaffar, Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research, Dr. Hassan Moustafa, IHF President, Engineer Hisham Nasr, Chairman of the Organizing Committee of the Championship, Dr. Ahmed Al Sheikh, Executive Director of the Ministry, and Captain Hussein Labib, Director of the tournament.